Skip to content High contrast mode
Logo of University of Latvia (LU)

Preparatory Courses

Tuition fee €1,500 per programme
Registration fee €100 one-time

Baltic Center Registration Fee Includes:
– Consultations for selection of HEI
– Migration & visa consultation
– Registration in the Baltic Center database
HEI admission documents’ check
– General testing for all Baltic Center HEIs – Admission Examination
– Student’s admission to HEI, maximum 3 registrations per one fee.
& In case of HEI change at the request of a student, after the admission letter receiving from HEI, a transfer to another HEI is for an extra cost.
– Documents’ arrangement for the payments to HEI
– Bonus – on the written application of a student, preparation and transfer of the invitation for the embassy.
& The period of preparation from week to two months


The University of Latvia offers a preparatory semester with courses for international students who are seeking to upgrade their language and study skills before commencing bachelor degree studies at our University. Studying in preparatory courses will give opportunity to improve skills and knowledge to be enrolled in the chosen study programme.

Preparatory courses will be divided in three modules according to the study programmes.

Compulsory courses which will be for all preparatory semester students:

Academic English (B2) – 9 ECTS;
Latvian Language (A2) – 6 ECTS;
Elective modules:

Levelling Course in Mathematics (for study programmes: Computer Sciences, Chemistry) – 6 ECTS;
Levelling Course in Mathematics (social sciences) (for study programmes: Business Administration, International Economics and Diplomacy) – 3 ECTS.
In addition, students will be able to choose additional courses from the bachelor study programme in which they are interested in.

Together students should have five or six courses to attend and will receive 16 CP (24 ECTS).

Apply now! Fall semester 2019/20
Application period has ended
not available on the official website. 11/07/19 DARYA
Studies commence
Sep 1, 2019

Application deadlines apply to citizens of: United States